The Latin Codex will be Hosted in Costa Rica

The Latin America Codex Alimentarius

Costa Rica will host the next Codex Alimentarius for Latin America and the Caribbean (CCLAC), for the 18th meeting.

THE CCLAC discuss issues on the agenda of this Committee and the Strategic Plan of the Commission for the next five years, the planning of future work in regional strategic planning, the development of new standards to facilitate intra-regional trade, several regional issues that are currently under discussion in the various technical bodies of the Commission in order to assess its impact on the region.

The activity will take place next week and will include representatives of the countries of the region comprising the CCLAC: the Minister of Economy, Industry and Trade, the Minister of Agriculture and Livestock, and the FAO Representative in Costa Rica.

The Latin America Codex Alimentarius is a program of the FAO and the World Health Organization (WHO) created in 1961. It is a collection of international food standards, which include rules for all major foods, processed, semi-processed or raw, and raw materials for further processing as food.

The Codex Alimentarius includes standards for hygiene and nutritional quality of food and microbiological, provisions for food additives, contaminants, residues of pesticides and veterinary drugs, labeling and methods of analysis and sampling. It also contains provisions in the form of codes of practice, guidelines and recommendations.

The Costa Rica News (TCRN)
San Jose Costa Rica

Leave a Reply