The Costa Rica News (TCRN) – According to the reform of the Electoral Code and the new Liquor Act No. 9047, municipalities have the power to ban the sale of liquor on holidays, including the present independence day celebrations for the 15th of September. Twelve municipalities have agreed to this liquor ban this weekend.

The National Union of Local Governments (UNGL) gathered information on what municipalities can apply or not apply the “Prohibition.” Of the 81 municipalities, nine have not taken the agreement of the Council, 59 do not apply the “Prohibition,” and 12 will not allow the sale of alcoholic drinks and two did not answer.

If local governments do not designate opposition, the sale of liquor is allowed in the cantons. Significantly, the law does have economic repercussions for those who breach the “Dry Law” and they can have their liquor licenses repealed according to Articles 14 and 23 of the 9047 Act.

The following are the cantons enforcing the Dry Law on September 15:

  1. Carthage
  2. Liberia
  3. Goicoechea
  4. Santa Barbara
  5. Santo Domingo
  6. Alajuelita
  7. Moravia
  8. Montes de Oca
  9. Palmares
  10. Turrialba
  11. Esparza
  12. Aserrí

The Costa Rica News (TCRN)

San Jose, Costa Rica